2023 Award

Senator Jim Burgin – presents the 2023 award to Senator Woodard

In 2023 Senator Mike Woodard was recognized for his service in the General Assembly as well as his dedication to the broader community for over 30 years. Prior to his election in 2013 to the NC General Assembly, he served for 7 years on the Durham City Council. His civic activities are extensive – and include serving as a tutor at C.C. Spaulding Elementary School.

Senator Woodard is a Duke graduate, and his career includes serving as an administrator with Duke University and the Duke Health System.

The 2022 recipient – Senator Jim Burgin – presented the 2023 award to Senator Woodard during the 45th annual Legislative Breakfast on Mental Health at the Friday Center on February 4, 2023.

At the event over 400 participants heard presentations and policy proposals from DHHS Secretary Kody Kinsley, members of the North Carolina General Assembly, faculty and medical providers from Duke and UNC, and “lived experience” speakers.

The Rep. Paul Luebke Legislative Champion Award on Mental Health is presented to honor the memory and achievements of the late Paul Luebke.

Rep. Luebke was a tireless advocate for improving and expanding mental health services in North Carolina. He worked with fellow members of the General Assembly and with community advocates to educate us on the critical need for comprehensive mental health services.

This award recognizes members of the North Carolina General Assembly who exemplify Rep. Luebke’s dedication.

Previous recipients:

2017 – Verla Insko

2018 – Tamara Barringer and Tommy Tucker

2019 – Floyd McKissick

2020 – Josh Dobson

2021 – Carla Cunningham

2022 – Jim Burgin

Read more about previous awards